Allen Crawford’s “Whitman Illuminated: Song of Myself”

 “This hour I tell things in confidence, I might not tell everybody, but I will tell you.” WW
Although I was first introduced to Whitman in school, I didn’t truly find him until many years later.
When I did, a world opened up around me.
It was the same world I’d always known–the same people and places, the same sounds, but it had a slight
tilt to it that Whitman’s work allows: each step seemed new, sounds became sharper and nature spoke.
I wanted to do what Whitman had done–use words to make the world clearer, make it new.

“Not I, not any one else can travel that road for you, You must travel it for yourself.” WW

    To my delight, illustrator Allen Crawford has made Whitman’s poem “Song of Myself” into a 256-page work of art, making Whitman accessible to a new generation of readers. The text and illustrations take the reader by the hand and lead them on an   adventure of the creative spirit. It is a lovely reminder to us all to “habit yourself to the dazzle of the light and of every moment of your life.” WW

Enjoy this video introducing Crawford’s new book!

Leave a Reply

